header photo

Sneads Ferry, North Carolina

Community Council


The Sneads Ferry Community Center and Shrimp Festival extend our sincere condolences to the family and friends of Lura Hewett. We are forever grateful for the time she spent volunteering for the Shrimp Festival and will always treasure those memories.

Lura Y. Hewett

May her memory always inspire a smile, a laugh, and wearing of bright colors!

2023 Shrimp Festival Dates Announced!

Visit to find applications for vendors, parade, food trucks, and more!
The Sneads Ferry Community Council and Shrimp Festival Committee want to express our heartfelt condolences to the Norris family and the Sneads Ferry community for the loss of Alton James Norris Jr., "Junior" to those who knew him best. Junior was named 2016 Fisherman of the Year because of his passion for the fishing industry as well as his pride in his community.
"When asked about the legacy he hopes to leave to future generations of fishermen, he said, 'I hope they remember that I tried my best and that I worked hard.'"

What is community council?

The Sneads Ferry Community Council is organized and operated to advance the civic, charitable, social, historic, educational and economic interests of the Sneads Ferry Community as follows:

By providing and promoting community enrichment opportunities; by providing a venue for other charities and non-profits to operate and by providing funding for scholarships to area student, as well as, contributions to other area non-profits.

Meetings are held the Second Wednesday of each month at 7:00 pm at the Community Center (occasionally we meet at an alternate location, which will be announced in advance of the meeting). The public is encouraged to attend. 

 The following groups currently are represented on the council:

Council Committiees:

  • Executive Council
  • Bylaws
  • Fundraising
  • Beautification
  • Scholarships
  • Media/Communication

Council Events:

Contact Us

Community Council

Add phone #

Add email address

Meeting information

Community Center

126 Park Lane Sneads Ferry, NC 28460



Community Center Facebook Page

Mailing Address

PO Box 503

Sneads Ferry, NC 28460

Emergency Contacts

Police 911 or 910-455-3113

Fire: 911  Non-Emergency 910-327-7221

Medical Emergency 911 

Crisis Hotline 988

Onslow County Emergency Management 910-347-4270

Our 2023 Council:

Executive Committee

Vanessa Sapp - Chair

Natasha Nebens - Vice Chair

Miranda Dubrey-Lefler - Treasurer

Jessica Millis - Secretary

Committee Chairs

Natasha Neben - Sneads Ferry Shrimp Festival 

Andrea Cummings - Christmas in the Ferry

Jamie Lanier - Fundraising

Davonna Thomas - Media/Communication

Nicole Reynolds - Scholarships

Lynn Mandle - Budget

Organization Representatives

Ricky Hardison - Turkey Creek Fire Department

Lynn Hinnant - Rotary Club of Sneads Ferry

Vanessa Sapp - Sneads Ferry Hope

Polly Rosenberg - New River Garden Club

Adam Jones - Friends of Stump Sound

Josh Brown - Sneads Ferry Churches

Grace Malloy - Sneads Ferry Interfaith

Members at Large

Andrea Cummings

Michelle Norris

Connie Roberto

Kim Shell

Kristina Spackman